The Manband Forum

Admin and Support => Manband Forum Central => Topic started by: Mike Morgan on July 06, 2011, 06:34:55 PM

Title: Refresh
Post by: Mike Morgan on July 06, 2011, 06:34:55 PM
Don't know if it's my PC, but when I log in over the last two / three days I just get the board details, but no threads.  Click refresh and it all comes to life. 
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Arjayay on July 06, 2011, 07:41:22 PM
If I click "Recent posts" in my "Favorites" (Spit - US spelling) I just get a blank screen with "Done" at the LH end of the status bar. (IE8 XP)
I have to refresh to get any image at all.  Subsequent refreshes and internal links work fine, it is just the first screen.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 06, 2011, 08:16:58 PM
I'm seeing the same behaviour here, using IE9.0.8; Firefox 5.0; and Opera 11.50.

Seems to have just started to behave this way over the past couple of days, so I'm enquiring with the new hosting service who have taken over or previous hosts.

I'll report back.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Mike Morgan on July 06, 2011, 08:42:21 PM
So it may not be my outstanding ineptitude?  Marvellous!
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Pete T on July 07, 2011, 09:39:48 AM
I'll add a comment here.

I have a shortcut on my google toolbar, and have recently (a week or so) had to click it twice to get the board up.
First click leaves a blank page, clicking again brings the board up..

not a problem on my ageing laptop where the "m's" or the CD drive doesn't work..

(Windows Vista and IE9 I think)
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Allan Heron on July 07, 2011, 11:32:29 AM
I have a shortcut on my google toolbar, and have recently (a week or so) had to click it twice to get the board up.
First click leaves a blank page, clicking again brings the board up..

On the premise that this isn't euphemistic, I've been experiencing similar at home as well.   Not solely related to this site though.

Using Google Chrome as browser - doesn't happen in the office (where I'm always hard at work) via Firefox.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 07, 2011, 03:20:45 PM
Investigation continues.....

The Forum's been upgraded today to the latest stable release of SMF. Bug reports welcomed (I know that the sad smiley has got lost somewhere).

I'm still getting a blank screen from time to time. Frustratingly there are no errors being thrown to the server or php logs, so clues are still being sought.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Allan Heron on July 07, 2011, 03:24:42 PM
Just happened to me in the office so disregard the previous feedback
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Allan Heron on July 07, 2011, 04:33:54 PM
Formatting appears to be all over the shop at the moment, but suspect that means that Jules is fiddling with it.

Can he sort the forum out once he's done perhaps?

 8)
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 07, 2011, 05:38:45 PM
I'm just looking for the tissues...
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 07, 2011, 06:30:12 PM
Tissues found.

The server php config has been tweaked by our hosts this afternoon. I'm assured the blank screen problem should go away now.

As it was intermittent to start with, please would you post a reply here if you're still seeing it.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Mike Morgan on July 07, 2011, 06:31:05 PM
Just logged on and it looks fine.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Mike Morgan on July 07, 2011, 06:34:00 PM
...and then I logged on to the Xmas at the patti thread and had a message saying the site was unavailable, but when I clicked the refresh button I gained access.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Nick Nation on July 07, 2011, 07:44:56 PM
Still needed to use 'Refresh' to get past blank screen at start.
Formatting erratic - Jules's avatar left of where it should be.
Menu page - last post column compressed.

This never would have happened in the days of British Rail.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Martin Daughton on July 07, 2011, 08:01:39 PM
Similar problems and I have deliberately kept IE8 'til MS fix the bugs...
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Tim W on July 07, 2011, 08:03:35 PM
The server php config has been tweaked by our hosts this afternoon. I'm assured the blank screen problem should go away now.

As it was intermittent to start with, please would you post a reply here if you're still seeing it.

Never believe a hosting company's first response.

It's still happening.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Nick Nation on July 07, 2011, 08:57:31 PM
1953 and tension mounts. I can now get straight in. Looking at the messages above, on my screen Tim is to the right of where he should be, whereas Allan is ok. Mike M varies between ok and to the right. Arjayay is ok. Jules varies. Which is nice.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Nick Nation on July 07, 2011, 08:58:23 PM
...and me and Pete are to the right.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Nick Nation on July 07, 2011, 08:59:41 PM
....err, but my last one is ok. Except the 'modify' options are askew. Wonder what this one will be like.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Nick Nation on July 07, 2011, 09:00:20 PM
Ha! It was to the right!

Good luck, Jules.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Mike Morgan on July 07, 2011, 11:30:15 PM
I've got posts appearing below what appears to be the sign off.  Look at the colours maaaan!

Beeching has a lot to answer for.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 08, 2011, 12:18:16 AM
Never believe a hosting company's first response.

Sagacious advice. All is not well.

More tissues being sought.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Mike Morgan on July 08, 2011, 12:34:29 AM
I've eaten Sag Aloo a few times.  Is that similar to sagacious?

Doesn't take long to go off the point does it?  Sorry.

And I would like to say that if Nick Nation or any of you see me veering to the Right, give me a good slap.  Spent some time with a few retired friends today and it was interesting to hear how we've all moved away from the Left as far as investments etc go, but we still think we've got the militant / left wing views of 30 or 40 years ago.  Natural progression I suppose as we become a 'bit' wealthier.

Magggie! Maggie! Maggie! and so on.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 08, 2011, 02:15:32 AM
Page and post setting for the default theme should be ok now. Please do let me know if not. The personalised themes however are still to be worked on, so you'll see some strange formatting if you're using one of these.

The scrolling gig-list has been temporarily removed, but should return soon.

Response times from the server are still poor and screens will show intermittent failures to load until this is sorted. My apologies for the disruption.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Nick Nation on July 08, 2011, 09:25:22 AM
Page and post setting for the default theme should be ok now.

It's a lot better now Jules, thanks for your stirlings.

The scrolling gig-list has been temporarily removed, but should return soon.

I'm sure that was my cue to say something pithy.....

Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Mike Morgan on July 08, 2011, 11:32:26 AM
Jules, thanks from me as well.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Pete T on July 08, 2011, 12:14:40 PM
I'm using the BITF skin, formating is all over the place..
but I am getting in first time now..

Just change to default, everything is fine.. (except it's blue - like that bloody Thatcher woman..)
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 08, 2011, 12:21:15 PM
I'm using the BITF skin, formating is all over the place..

Yep, I still have to adjust the formatting on the personalised themes.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 09, 2011, 01:49:41 AM
Forum performance on Thursday seemed pretty poor to me, with many refreshes being required.  :(

I've been monitoring through most of Friday and all seems to be well again now.  :)
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: William Rait on July 14, 2011, 10:26:41 AM
Jules, i just can't clear the problem,no matter how often I press "refresh". The body of the boards are ok so I can read the comments, it's just that the top part with the flag and the gig guide are all squashed up. As I'm accessing this on my networked work pc I am limited in what I can do.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Pete T on July 14, 2011, 11:33:01 AM
..if it's any help, nnine looks like this..

(if any one else wants to do this, open the nnanboard, use the "print scrn" button. then open "paint" [it's under other progranns/accessories/paint], paste, and save to desktop. this can then be posted on the board, or to Jules, so he can see what we can..)
Hope that helps Jules..

(..and I'nn using nn as an "m" cause nny m's stopped working. Had to cut and paste the real "nn's"
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Trevor Barstow on July 14, 2011, 01:41:47 PM
Pete Re: Your m problem.
Press and hold Alt key then on number pad press 0109

Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Pete T on July 14, 2011, 02:37:44 PM
109109109 (alt,held down, 0,1,0,9) nope, that doesn't work.. ‼‼ (rabbits ears are [nunnber lock] alt(held down), 0(nn), 1(j), 0(nn), 9(9), twice..

Hope that's understood, and sonneone's not trying to knit it..!!
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 14, 2011, 03:50:05 PM
I can read the comments, it's just that the top part with the flag and the gig guide are all squashed up.

Hi Bill, if you look to the right of the title ("The Manband Forum") you should see a little chevron. If this is pointing donwards, just click it to unshrink the header. Let me know if that doesn't solve it.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Trevor Barstow on July 14, 2011, 04:01:25 PM
109109109 (alt,held down, 0,1,0,9) nope, that doesn't work.. ‼‼ (rabbits ears are [nunnber lock] alt(held down), 0(nn), 1(j), 0(nn), 9(9), twice..

Hope that's understood, and sonneone's not trying to knit it..!!
IT support second in command here.

So you have a keyboard without separate keypad. You need to use the mechanism you normally use to get numbers out. For me that means..
Num Lock On
Alt (held down all the time) Fn and 0 Fn and 1 Fn and 0 Fn and 9.
If you get this right no characters appear until the end and then an m of great beauty will appear.

Failing that swap some eggs for a new keyboard - they cost about 10

Next week: How to get a Capital M when you have some breakfast lodged under the M key.

PS: I've just realised. Your M key doesn't work so you can't type the 0 in the keypad. So we have been wasting our time. Ho hum.
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Jules on July 14, 2011, 04:02:02 PM

Hope that helps Jules..


That's great, thanks Pete. Consider yourself a member of the Manboard Forum support team. I'll send your payment in the form of M & M's, as others seem reluctant to stump up for a pint ;)

The screenshot you attached looks just as I would expect for the default theme. Bill, if you see something different to this, a screenshot of your view would be very useful. 
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: William Rait on July 14, 2011, 04:39:06 PM
I can read the comments, it's just that the top part with the flag and the gig guide are all squashed up.

Hi Bill, if you look to the right of the title ("The Manband Forum") you should see a little chevron. If this is pointing donwards, just click it to unshrink the header. Let me know if that doesn't solve it.
Don't have the Forum title as it seems to be hidden behind my avatar ,"hello uncle Bill" etc. Don't seem to have the screen print enabled on this pc
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Pete T on July 14, 2011, 05:45:03 PM
Don't seem to have the screen print enabled on this pc

nny keyboard has on the top row, fronn right to left: delete, insert, print scrn, nunn lock, F12, F11...F1

press <print Scrn> once.
open paint
nnine opens with a blank rectangle. go to the 2nd drop down nnenu, and click paste

(I hope Rob W doesn't see the special "Snnite Rob W" button I've got. This is probably way too technical for hinn and he gave up ages ago..)
result is: 
Title: Re: Refresh
Post by: Rob W on July 14, 2011, 08:20:00 PM
Next week: How to get a Capital M when you have some breakfast lodged under the M key.

PS: I've just realised. Your M key doesn't work so you can't type the 0 in the keypad. So we have been wasting our time. Ho hum.


I haven't got a  'V' on my keyboard.

Came off, and I blue tacked it back. Didn't work so I superglued the bugger. 

Superglue was shite cos t came off again and lost in the ether.

Dell is crap. One day I'll replace this thing...