Author Topic: Re: Textarea resize bug  (Read 4281 times)

Pete T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3325
  • Karma: +70/-20
  • Man 1968 - 2008
Re: Textarea resize bug
« on: August 14, 2010, 08:08:57 PM »
Is it me, or my PC, but do the frames keep changing size as you hover over them?

When I go from the slider bar to move the screen up, and then to the post button, the frame re-sizes, and the button moves.. And the frame I'm typing in just shrunk by about 5% as you move out of the box, and enlarged back as you come back.

May be something to do with the typed text scrolling to the next line perhaps? 
In this message "moves" is in the same line as "and the button" but moving the cursor out of the box puts it in the next line. It returns when I start typing in the box again..

Ooops, just missed the post button again..
Virgin places don't mean a thing to people who never bring their hearts along.

Jules

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2055
  • Karma: +40/-8
    • The Manband Archive
Re: Re: Textarea resize bug
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2010, 10:50:24 PM »
Is it me, or my PC, but do the frames keep changing size as you hover over them?

I haven't seen this behaviour before so thanks for the heads up. I'm using IE8 whiche behaves itself generally. Playing with the scroll bars isn't making much difference on my PC, I'll keep fiddling to see if I can recreate.

By the way, you can change the depth of the text box into which replies are posted, by dragging the bottom edge of the frame. That may help
Boldly going.......

Pete T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3325
  • Karma: +70/-20
  • Man 1968 - 2008
Re: Re: Textarea resize bug
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2010, 12:24:05 AM »
I haven't seen this behaviour before so thanks for the heads up. I'm using IE8 whiche behaves itself generally. Playing with the scroll bars isn't making much difference on my PC, I'll keep fiddling to see if I can recreate.

By the way, you can change the depth of the text box into which replies are posted, by dragging the bottom edge of the frame. That may help

Jules,

Frame is ... this wide. When I move the cursor outside the window.. "this wide" jumps to line 2, but when I start typing in the box again "this wide" jumps back to line 1. Moving the cursor outside the box again.. "this wide" goes back to line 2. ..and moving in again and typing.. "this wide" is back to line 1. 
   
Depth doesn't matter..
Trying to find which IE I'm using..
Virgin places don't mean a thing to people who never bring their hearts along.

Pete T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3325
  • Karma: +70/-20
  • Man 1968 - 2008
Re: Re: Textarea resize bug
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2010, 12:36:50 AM »
8.0.6001.18943

When I went to click Post, button moved to the left 1/2 a button as frome narrowed..
Happens when I moved outside the box to scroll down....

Just done some screen dumps and pasted into Word, will e-mail..
Virgin places don't mean a thing to people who never bring their hearts along.

Pete T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3325
  • Karma: +70/-20
  • Man 1968 - 2008
Re: Re: Textarea resize bug
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2010, 01:10:58 AM »
Frame is ... this wide.

There were lots of dots in there showing the frame to be.. .. .. .. .. .. ..  .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..this wide.

"be.. .. .. this wide" jumps to line 2.. 
« Last Edit: August 15, 2010, 01:13:33 AM by Pete T »
Virgin places don't mean a thing to people who never bring their hearts along.

Jules

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2055
  • Karma: +40/-8
    • The Manband Archive
Re: Re: Textarea resize bug
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2010, 01:51:19 AM »
Screen shots received, thanks Pete. I can certainly see that the window size is adjusting itself at some point. Have to admit i don't know why that should be. I've tried to emulate on IE8, but that seems solid.

You can check your browser version by looking under the "Help" and then "About Internet Explorer" menu items.

Splitting topic and moving to a Bug reports.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2010, 01:54:26 AM by Jules »
Boldly going.......

Pete T

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3325
  • Karma: +70/-20
  • Man 1968 - 2008
Re: Textarea resize bug
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2010, 09:31:25 AM »
You can check your browser version by looking under the "Help" and then "About Internet Explorer" menu items.

Knew that, just couldn't find the help amongst those toolbars..

V 8.0.6001.18943 as posted..
Virgin places don't mean a thing to people who never bring their hearts along.